Sun blasts out 2016’s strongest flare

The sun fired off its strongest solar flare of 2016 during an active weekend that saw three eruptions from the star’s surface.

The uptick in solar activity occurred overnight on Friday and Saturday (July 22 and 23) when the sun unleashed three relatively moderate solar flares, all of which were captured on video by NASA’s Solar Dynamics Observatory.

While all three were somewhat minor, they are the first substantial solar events in months, NASA officials said in a statement.

The first solar flare registered as an M5.0 sun storm and peaked Friday night at 10:11 p.m. EDT (0211 July 23 GMT).
It was followed by a second, more-intense flare, which peaked as an M7.5-class solar storm on Saturday at 1:16 a.m. EDT (0516 GMT).
A third, M5.5-class flare peaked 15 minutes later, at 1:31 a.m. EDT (0531 GMT)
More here including video
http://www.space.com/

Advertisements