SOTA – 4S 8.4 Ah LiFePO4 Battery

Get out of the Radio Shack and Live Life

A correspondent requested details of a lightweight high-capacity 13.2 volt battery, which I use to power my Yeasu FT-857D for SOTA activations. The battery is a 4 cell 8.4 Ah Lithium Iron Phosphate (4S 8.4 Ah LiFePO4) purchased from HobbyKing’s Australian (AU) warehouse in Moruya NSW.

Battery Dimensions: 150mm x 52mm x 70mm. Weight: 960 grams, round up to 1kg.

The battery is fitted with two 8 AWG leads terminated with 5.5 mm male (-ve) and female (+ve) bullet-connectors. The 5 pin JST-XH strip connector is for balanced charging. Rather than cut the bullet connectors off the leads, I decided to make a short DC cable adapter. One end of the adapter is fitted with a corresponding pair of 5.5 mm bullet-connectors, at the other end I installed a pair of 30 Amp Anderson Powerpole connectors. Why you ask?

In my shack I have standardised all DC power cable connectors…

View original post 289 more words

